Collection: Dyer plants

Over 150 known plant species have been used for coloring so far. The use of natural dyes can be traced back to the early Paleolithic. Before it was possible to synthesize dyes in the 19th century, vegetable dyes played an important role in dyeing fabrics. Dyes were also a very important and valuable commodity. In the Middle Ages, people in Europe began to grow dye plants in fields.

Although all plants contain dyes, only a few meet the requirements in terms of economy, quality (e.g. wash fastness, light fastness), biological availability and dyeing behavior.

People in Indonesian Sulawesi and Spain were already twisting plants into fibers and coloring them as early as 40,000 years ago.
Dye plants were also used for food, cosmetics, paper and many others.

Bloodroot - Tormentil [Potentilla erecta]

€2,50 EUR
Bloodroot is a perennial dye and medicinal plant that has been known since ancient times and can be used for numerous ailments. In Europe, the species can still be found wild in Scandinavia, Germany, Italy,...
  • 300 Seeds

Common Tansy [Tanacetum vulgare]

€2,50 EUR
The tansy is a very old, perennial wild perennial, dye and medicinal plant from Europe and Asia. The versatile medicinal herb has numerous bright yellow flower heads and finely pinnate, fernlike leaves. With a strong...
  • 2000 Seeds

Dyer Chamomile [Anthemis tinctoria]

€2,50 EUR
Dyer's chamomile is an old wild perennial scent and dye plant that was used to dye wool yellow in the Middle Ages and is native to parts of Europe and Asia. The robust and drought-tolerant...
  • 500 Seeds

European Goldenrod [Solidago virgaurea]

€2,50 EUR
The European goldenrod is a perennial dye and medicinal plant that has been used since ancient times and is the only wild form originally found in Europe. It thrives easily in all soils and temperatures...
  • 300 Seeds

Strawberry Spinach [Chenopodium capitatum]

€2,50 EUR
Strawberry spinach is an old perennial almost forgotten leafy vegetable plant that comes from North America and grows there on wet, shady banks of rivers and lakes and as a weed in cultivated land. The...
  • 500 Seeds

Red garden message [Atriplex hortensis rubra]

€2,50 EUR
The red garden report is an annual, ancient and forgotten vegetable, spice, dye and medicinal plant. The vegetable variety developed in ancient times is one of the oldest cultivated plants and was already around 800...
  • 600 seeds

Bloodroot - Tormentil [Potentilla erecta]

€2,50 EUR
Bloodroot is a perennial dye and medicinal plant that has been known since ancient times and can be used for numerous ailments. In Europe, the species can still be found wild in Scandinavia, Germany, Italy,...
  • 300 Seeds

Common Tansy [Tanacetum vulgare]

€2,50 EUR
The tansy is a very old, perennial wild perennial, dye and medicinal plant from Europe and Asia. The versatile medicinal herb has numerous bright yellow flower heads and finely pinnate, fernlike leaves. With a strong...
  • 2000 Seeds

Dyer Chamomile [Anthemis tinctoria]

€2,50 EUR
Dyer's chamomile is an old wild perennial scent and dye plant that was used to dye wool yellow in the Middle Ages and is native to parts of Europe and Asia. The robust and drought-tolerant...
  • 500 Seeds

European Goldenrod [Solidago virgaurea]

€2,50 EUR
The European goldenrod is a perennial dye and medicinal plant that has been used since ancient times and is the only wild form originally found in Europe. It thrives easily in all soils and temperatures...
  • 300 Seeds

Strawberry Spinach [Chenopodium capitatum]

€2,50 EUR
Strawberry spinach is an old perennial almost forgotten leafy vegetable plant that comes from North America and grows there on wet, shady banks of rivers and lakes and as a weed in cultivated land. The...
  • 500 Seeds

Red garden message [Atriplex hortensis rubra]

€2,50 EUR
The red garden report is an annual, ancient and forgotten vegetable, spice, dye and medicinal plant. The vegetable variety developed in ancient times is one of the oldest cultivated plants and was already around 800...
  • 600 seeds

Kategorie: Färberpflanzen

Blutwurz [Potentilla erecta]

€2,50 EUR
Blutwurzel ist eine mehrjährige Färbe- und Heilpflanze, die seit der Antike bekannt ist und bei zahlreichen Beschwerden eingesetzt werden kann. In Europa ist die Art noch wild in Skandinavien, Deutschland, Italien, Spanien und Portugal zu...
  • 300 Samen

Rainfarn [Tanacetum vulgare]

€2,50 EUR
Der Rainfarn ist eine sehr alte, mehrjährige wilde Staude, Färber- und Heilpflanze aus Europa und Asien. Das vielseitige Heilkraut hat zahlreiche leuchtend gelbe Blütenköpfe und fein gefiederte, farnartige Blätter. Mit einem starken Wuchs, verbreitet er...
  • 2000 Samen

Färberkamille [Anthemis tinctoria]

€2,50 EUR
Die Färberkamille ist eine alte wilde mehrjährige Duft- und Färberpflanze die schon früher im Mittelalter zum Gelbfärben von Wolle verwendet wurde und in Teilen Europas und Asiens heimisch ist. Die robusten und trockenheitstoleranten Pflanzen sind...
  • 500 Samen

Europäische Goldrute [Solidago virgaurea]

€2,50 EUR
Die Europäische Goldrute ist eine mehrjährige Färbe- und Heilpflanze, die seit der Antike verwendet wird und die einzige Wildform ist, die ursprünglich in Europa vorkommt. Sie gedeiht problemlos in allen Böden und Temperaturen und kommt...
  • 300 Seeds

Erdbeerspinat [Chenopodium capitatum]

€2,50 EUR
Der Erdbeerspinat ist eine alte mehrjährige beinahe vergessene Blattgemüsepflanze die aus Nordamerika stammt und dort an nassen, schattigen Ufern von Flüssen und Seen sowie als Kraut in Kulturland wächst. Die besondere Art gelangte Anfang des...
  • 500 Samen

Rote Gartenmelde [Atriplex hortensis rubra]

€2,50 EUR
Die rote Gartenmelde ist eine einjährige, uralte und vergessene Gemüse-, Gewürz-, Färber- und Heilpflanze. Die in der Antike entwickelte Gemüsesorte zählt zu den ältesten Kulturpflanzen und wurde bereits um 800 n. Chr. vor allem im...

Blutwurz [Potentilla erecta]

€2,50 EUR
Blutwurzel ist eine mehrjährige Färbe- und Heilpflanze, die seit der Antike bekannt ist und bei zahlreichen Beschwerden eingesetzt werden kann. In Europa ist die Art noch wild in Skandinavien, Deutschland, Italien, Spanien und Portugal zu...
  • 300 Samen

Rainfarn [Tanacetum vulgare]

€2,50 EUR
Der Rainfarn ist eine sehr alte, mehrjährige wilde Staude, Färber- und Heilpflanze aus Europa und Asien. Das vielseitige Heilkraut hat zahlreiche leuchtend gelbe Blütenköpfe und fein gefiederte, farnartige Blätter. Mit einem starken Wuchs, verbreitet er...
  • 2000 Samen

Färberkamille [Anthemis tinctoria]

€2,50 EUR
Die Färberkamille ist eine alte wilde mehrjährige Duft- und Färberpflanze die schon früher im Mittelalter zum Gelbfärben von Wolle verwendet wurde und in Teilen Europas und Asiens heimisch ist. Die robusten und trockenheitstoleranten Pflanzen sind...
  • 500 Samen

Europäische Goldrute [Solidago virgaurea]

€2,50 EUR
Die Europäische Goldrute ist eine mehrjährige Färbe- und Heilpflanze, die seit der Antike verwendet wird und die einzige Wildform ist, die ursprünglich in Europa vorkommt. Sie gedeiht problemlos in allen Böden und Temperaturen und kommt...
  • 300 Seeds

Erdbeerspinat [Chenopodium capitatum]

€2,50 EUR
Der Erdbeerspinat ist eine alte mehrjährige beinahe vergessene Blattgemüsepflanze die aus Nordamerika stammt und dort an nassen, schattigen Ufern von Flüssen und Seen sowie als Kraut in Kulturland wächst. Die besondere Art gelangte Anfang des...
  • 500 Samen

Rote Gartenmelde [Atriplex hortensis rubra]

€2,50 EUR
Die rote Gartenmelde ist eine einjährige, uralte und vergessene Gemüse-, Gewürz-, Färber- und Heilpflanze. Die in der Antike entwickelte Gemüsesorte zählt zu den ältesten Kulturpflanzen und wurde bereits um 800 n. Chr. vor allem im...